The State of Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services manages all x-ray personnel licensing in the state.
X-ray License in Wisconsin
Wis. Stat. § 462, requires that any person who operates a portable x-ray machine, and is not exempt from the law, shall obtain a license or permit to perform radiography or limited-scope radiographic procedures.
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Pass required exam (Visit the ARRT Examination site for information)
For more information, visit the State of Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services Licensing page.
Registering an X-ray Device
Wisconsin works to minimize the public's unnecessary exposure to radiation by inspecting and registering all x-ray for compliance with state radiation protection regulations.
Regulations for Portable X-ray Equipment
State Of Wisconsin, Department Of Health Services, Division Of Public Health, Bureau Of Environmental And Occupational Health, Radiation Protection Section.
Specific regulations for portable and mobile x-ray machines:
- DHS 157 defines mobile x-ray equipment as mounted on a permanent base with wheels and/or casters for moving while completely assembled; portable x-ray equipment is defined as hand-carried. Battery-operated, hand-held dental x-ray devices must be approved by DHS prior to use.
- The x-ray machine operator must be positioned so that his/her exposure to scatter radiation is as low as reasonably achievable (ALARA). *The operator shall remain 2 meters (6.5 feet) or more away from the tube and patient unless behind a barrier. The operator should never be in line with the direct beam.
- If the x-ray machine operator must be closer than 2 meters (6.5 feet) from the patient or tube, the operator must wear a lead apron. Lead aprons must be available at any location where a mobile or portable device is used, i.e., typically aprons are stored with or on a mobile or portable device.
- If using a portable or mobile device in the same location for more than one week, the equipment is considered stationary and must meet all the requirements of a stationary unit.
- No person may hold the x-ray tube housing during the exposure. A stand or other means of support shall be used during the exposure. There is the possibility of electric shock from improper grounding if the machine is held.
Disclaimer: The information in this document is solely for reference material. Regulations change often. To be sure of the most up-to-date laws, contact your local and state agencies.
Bureau of Health Service Professions
Division of Board Services
Wisconsin Dept. of Regulation and Licensing
P.O. Box 8935
Madison, WI 53708-8935
Wisconsin Radiology License
Radiation Protection Section
P.O. Box 2659
Madison, Wisconsin 53701-2659