West Virginia Portable X-ray Regulations

Dec 15, 2022 7:14:48 AM / by Chad Hutchison

The West Virginia Department of Health and Human Services is responsible for all personnel licensing in the state. The Radiological Health Program manages the registration, inspection, and management of portable x-rays.

X-ray License in West Virginia

The Medical Imaging and Radiation Therapy Technology Board of Examiners was created to promote, preserve, and protect the public health and welfare of West Virginians by licensing individuals who use x-rays as medical imaging professionals.

Applications must be submitted online. All applications will be processed within 24 hours, seven days a week. The first, initial WV Medical Imaging or Radiation Therapy License, will cost $92 for 1 year or 12 months.

Registering an X-ray Device

The Radiological Health Program is responsible for the registration and inspection of all facilities with x-ray machines used in West Virginia.

Regulations for Portable X-ray Equipment

  • 7.2.60. Portable X-ray Equipment - x-ray equipment designed to be hand-carried.
  • 7.3.a.9.C. Portable or mobile x-ray equipment shall be used only for examinations where it is impractical to transfer the patients to a stationary x-ray installation.
  • 7.8.a.4.A. Means shall be provided to limit the x-ray field in the plane of the image receptor so that such field does not exceed each dimension of the image receptor by more than two (2) percent of the SID when the axis of the x-ray beam is perpendicular to the plane of the image receptor.
  • 7.8.b.6.B. Mobile and Portable Systems. Mobile and portable x-ray systems which are:7.8.b.6.B.1. Used continuously for greater than one week in the same location, i.e., a room or suite, shall meet the requirements of Subparagraph 7.8.b.6.A.;7.8.b.6.B.2. Used for less than one week at the same location shall be provided with either a protective barrier at least two (2) meters six and one-half (six [6.5] feet) high for operator protection during exposures, or means shall be provided to allow the operator to be at least two and seven-tenths (2.7) meters (nine [9] feet) from the tube housing assembly during the exposure.
  • 7.8.c. Source-to-Skin Distance. All mobile or portable radiographic systems shall be provided with means to limit the source-to-skin distance to equal to or greater than thirty (30) centimeters, except for veterinary systems.
  • 7.8.h.3. Beam Limitation for Portable X-Ray Systems. Beam limitation for portable x-ray systems shall meet the beam limitation requirements of Paragraphs 7.8.a.1. or 7.8.h.2.
  • 7.8.i. Tube Stands for Portable X-Ray Systems. A tube stand or other mechanical support shall be used for portable x-ray systems, so that the x-ray tube housing assembly need not be hand-held during exposures.
  • 7.9.c.5.B.1. Used for greater than one week in the same location, i.e., a room or suite, shall meet the requirements of Subparagraph 7.9.c.5.a.;7.9.c.5.B.2. Used for less than one week in the same location shall be provided with either a protective barrier at least two (2) meters (six and five-tenths [6.5] feet) high for operator protection, or means to allow the operator to be at least two and seven-tenths (2.7) meters (nine [9] feet) from the tube housing assembly while making exposures.

Disclaimer: The information in this document is solely for reference material. Regulations change often. To be sure of the most up-to-date laws, contact your local and state agencies.

Additional Resources

West Virginia Radiology License

West Virginia Radiologic Technology Board of Examiners

P.O. Box 638

1715 Flat Top Road

Cool Ridge, West Virginia 25825

(304) 787-4398

Tags: Portable X-ray Regulations

Chad Hutchison

Written by Chad Hutchison