Utah Portable X-ray Regulations

Dec 15, 2022 7:05:57 AM / by Chad Hutchison

The Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPLY) manages x-ray operator licensing in Utah, and the Utah Department of Environmental Quality handles the registration and regulation of machines.

X-ray License in Utah

There are 3 types of licenses you can apply for in the state of Utah:

  • Radiologic Technologist
  • Radiologist Assistant
  • Radiology Practical Technician

Apply for a license here.

Before proceeding, you must have an ARRT Certification or NMTCB Certification

Registering an X-ray Device

The Utah Department of Environmental Quality, X-ray program manages the registration of all portable x-ray devices in Utah. Handheld X-ray equipment for dental and industrial uses are X-ray sources and must be registered in the State of Utah. (R313-16-230)

All x-ray tubes in Utah must be registered each year with the Division (if they are attached to a control unit). Registration forms are sent to all registrants on file each year. Even x-ray units in storage must be registered if they are not in a retail sales facility. 

Rules also require the Division to be notified within 14 days of the acquisition, transfer, or disposal of an x-ray system.

The registration fee is $45.00 per tube.

For questions, contact DWMRC at (801) 536-0200.

Regulations for Portable X-ray Equipment

Utah Admin. Code 313-28-31

  • Portable or mobile equipment shall be used only for examinations where it is impractical to transfer the patient to a stationary radiographic installation.
  • Hand-held medical x-ray systems. X-ray equipment designed to be hand-held shall comply with Section R313-28-31, excluding Subsection R313-28-31(5), and R313-28-52, excluding Subsections R313-28-52(8)(b)(i) and (ii).
  • When operating hand-held equipment for which it is not possible for the operator to remain at least six feet from the x-ray machine during x-ray exposure, protective aprons of at least 0.5 millimeter lead equivalence shall be provided for the operator to protect the operator's torso and gonads from backscatter radiation.
  • In addition to the dose limits in R313-15-301, operators of hand-held x-ray equipment shall ensure that members of the public that may be exposed to scatter radiation or primary beam transmission from the hand-held device are not exposed above 2 milliroentgen per hour.
  • In addition to the requirements of Subsection R313-28-350(1), each operator of hand-held x-ray equipment shall complete the training program supplied by the manufacturer prior to using the x-ray unit. Records of training shall be maintained on file for examination by an authorized representative of the Director.


Disclaimer: The information in this document is solely for reference material. Regulations change often. To be sure of the most up-to-date laws, contact your local and state agencies.

Additional Resources

Bureau of Health Professions

Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing 

160 E. 300 S.

P.O. Box 146741 

Salt Lake City, UT 84144-6741

(866) 275-3675

Utah Radiology License

Radiology Technologist Licensing Board

Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing

P.O. Box 146741

Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-6741

(801) 530-6628

Tags: Portable X-ray Regulations

Chad Hutchison

Written by Chad Hutchison

Founder and CEO of Maven Imaging, Chad Hutchison has been in the medical imaging equipment market since 2003. As his business grew, he pioneered buying and selling medical equipment online and eventually began offering leasing and financing to meet market demands and help customers. His market expertise goes beyond traditional medical imaging and finance support, as he’s spearheading cloud-based lending solutions for vendors across the sector.