The South Dakota Department of Health handles all registration and regulations for portable x-ray equipment in the state.
X-ray License in South Dakota
South Dakota does not license personnel. At a minimum, any individual who has 24 hours of orientation and training in the operation of radiation-producing equipment by a qualified instructor may operate any radiation-producing device.
Dental radiographers must have a minimum of 16 hours of training.
Registering an X-ray Device
On the South Dakota Application for License of Radiation Machine (Ionizing), you must specify whether the application is for new registration, a renewal, or for a change of address, ownership, or other information.
Department of Health Inspections
According to the Administrative Rules of South Dakota, x-ray facilities must be surveyed by a state inspector every 3 years. With some minor preparation, this survey can be quite easy.
There are seven items that the inspectors will ask to see:
- 1. Film badge report
- 2. Technique chart
- 3. Darkroom/processor QA records
- 4. Patient records
- 5. Documentation of initial and continuing education
- 6. Documentation of annual evaluation of protective devices (Lead Aprons, Gloves, Gonadal Shields)
- 7. Annual survey physicist report for CT units, if applicable
Regulations for Portable X-ray Equipment
South Dakota Chapter 44:03:01, Radiation Control
Portable machines must meet all of the regulations below:
44:03:01:08.02 Equipment standards for medical diagnostic X ray machines
44:03:01:08.07 Equipment standards for mobile X ray equipment
- The exposure switch shall be located so the operator can stand at least six feet from the useful beam. If sufficient shielding is provided to protect the operator from stray radiation, the exposure switch may be located closer; and
- Any mobile medical radiographic equipment shall have a spacer to limit the target-to-skin distance to at least 12 inches.
Source: 26 SDR 96, effective January 23, 2000, General Authority: SDCL 34-21-4.1, 34-21-15, Law Implemented: SDCL 34-21-4.1, 34-21-15.
Disclaimer: The information in this document is solely for reference material. Regulations change often. To be sure of the most up-to-date laws, contact your local and state agencies.
South Dakota Board of Health
600 East Capitol Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501-2536
South Dakota Radiology License
South Dakota Department of Health
600 E. Capitol
Pierre, South Dakota 57501-2536