South Carolina Portable X-ray Regulations

Dec 15, 2022 6:52:34 AM / by Chad Hutchison

The South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control (DHEC) and the Radiation Quality Standards Association (SCRQSA) is responsible for licensing operators.

X-ray License in South Carolina

The South Carolina Radiation Quality Standards Association (SCRQSA) was created by the Medical Health and Radiation Safety Act. It is their mission to credential individuals qualified in the use of ionizing radiation to establish standards of patient care.

Currently, the SCRQSA has certified 10,000+ radiographers.

Registering an X-ray Device

Any business who possesses a portable or mobile X-ray-producing machine must register it with DHEC within 30 days of acquiring the machine. You are also required to notify DHEC any time you sell or get rid of a registered X-ray machine.

Regulations for Portable X-ray Equipment

DHEC Regulation 61-64 X-Rays (Title B)

  • Portable or mobile x-ray equipment shall be used only for examinations where it is impractical to transfer the patient(s) to a stationary x-ray installation. Portable or mobile dental equipment, not to include handheld, shall be exempt from this regulation.
  • Mobile and portable x-ray systems used in conjunction with a permanently installed cassette holder shall be considered a stationary radiographic system and shall meet the requirements for such an installation.
  • The exposure switch shall be such that the operator shall stand at least six feet away from the tube housing and out of the direct beam.
  • 4.8.8 Mobile and portable x-ray systems which are used in a single location for a period of greater than five consecutive days shall be considered a stationary radiographic system and shall meet the requirements of RHB 4.4.
  • 4.8.9 Mobile and portable x-ray systems which are used at multiple locations shall be provided with an adequate protective barrier or protective apron for the operator and with a method of control which will permit the operator to be at least 6 feet from the tube head and the nearest edge of the useful beam during exposures.
  • 4.8.10 Personnel monitoring shall be required for all operators of mobile and portable x-ray systems.
  • 4.8.11 A tube stand or other mechanical support shall be used for portable x-ray systems so that the x-ray tube housing assembly need not be hand-held during exposures.
  • 4.8.12 All mobile or portable radiographic systems shall be provided with means to limit the source-to-skin distance to equal to or greater than 30 centimeters.

For more on regulations, visit section RHB 4.8 Mobile Radiographic Equipment, page 66.


Disclaimer: The information in this document is solely for reference material. Regulations change often. To be sure of the most up-to-date laws, contact your local and state agencies.


Additional Resources

South Carolina Radiation Quality Standards Association (SCRQSA)

PO Box 7515 

1122 Lady Street, Suite 1115

Columbia, SC 29202

(803) 771-6141

South Carolina Radiology License

South Carolina Radiation Quality Standards Association

1122 Lady St., Suite 1115

Columbia, South Carolina 29201

(803) 771-6141

Tags: Portable X-ray Regulations

Chad Hutchison

Written by Chad Hutchison

Founder and CEO of Maven Imaging, Chad Hutchison has been in the medical imaging equipment market since 2003. As his business grew, he pioneered buying and selling medical equipment online and eventually began offering leasing and financing to meet market demands and help customers. His market expertise goes beyond traditional medical imaging and finance support, as he’s spearheading cloud-based lending solutions for vendors across the sector.