North Dakota Portable X-ray Regulations

Dec 15, 2022 6:42:46 AM / by Chad Hutchison

The North Dakota Medical Imaging & Radiation Therapy Board and the North Dakota Radiation Control Program manage all portable x-ray equipment, regulations, and licensing in the state.

X-ray License in North Dakota

North Dakota Law 43-62 requires licensure and appropriate registry for individuals operating a portable x-ray machine. All applicants must:

  • Complete the appropriate application
  • Pay non-refundable fees
  • Have the appropriate registry or working toward completing the appropriate registry(s)
  • Complete a required Criminal History Records Check

Registering an X-ray Device

The X-ray machine staff of the North Dakota Radiation Control Program oversees the registration and inspection of X-ray machine facilities, equipment, operators, and radiation service providers.

Regulations for Portable X-ray Equipment

NDCC 43-62 are the regulations that govern medical imaging and radiation therapy practice and are adopted and amended by the State Legislature. Additionally, The North Dakota Radiological Health Rules (NDRHR) contain requirements for all X-ray equipment operated in North Dakota.

Chapter 33-10-06 - X-Rays In The Healing Arts

  • "Mobile x-ray equipment" means x-ray equipment mounted on a permanent base with wheels or casters for moving while completely assembled.
  • "Portable x-ray equipment" means x-ray equipment designed to be hand-carried.
  • Portable or mobile equipment shall be used only for examinations where it is impractical to transfer the patients to a stationary x-ray installation.
  • Beam limitation for portable x-ray systems shall meet the beam limitation requirements of subdivision a of subsection 1 and subdivision a of this subsection.
  • Used continuously for greater than one week in the same location, i.e., a room or suite, shall meet the requirements of paragraph 1
  • Used for less than one week at the same location shall be provided with either a protective barrier at least two meters [6.5 feet] high for operator protection during exposures, or means shall be provided to allow the operator to be at least two and seven-tenths meters [9 feet] from the tube housing assembly during the exposure.
  • All mobile or portable radiographic systems shall be provided with means to limit the source-to-skin distance equal to or greater than thirty centimeters, except for veterinary systems.
  • A tube stand or other mechanical support shall be used for portable x-ray systems, so that the x-ray tube housing assembly need not be handheld during exposures.

Disclaimer: The information in this document is solely for reference material. Regulations change often. To be sure of the most up-to-date laws, contact your local and state agencies.

Additional Resources

ND Medical Imaging & Radiation Therapy Board

PO Box 398

Bismarck, ND 58502

(701) 425-0861

North Dakota Radiology License

North Dakota Department of Health

1200 Missouri Ave.

Box 5520

Bismarck, North Dakota 58506-5520

(701) 328-5188

Tags: Portable X-ray Regulations

Chad Hutchison

Written by Chad Hutchison

Founder and CEO of Maven Imaging, Chad Hutchison has been in the medical imaging equipment market since 2003. As his business grew, he pioneered buying and selling medical equipment online and eventually began offering leasing and financing to meet market demands and help customers. His market expertise goes beyond traditional medical imaging and finance support, as he’s spearheading cloud-based lending solutions for vendors across the sector.