Maine Portable X-ray Regulations

Dec 12, 2022 4:09:30 AM / by Chad Hutchison

The Maine Division of Environmental and Community Health hosts the state's x-ray program

X-ray License in Maine

The state of Maine requires a professional license to operate a portable x-ray machine. Read more on x-ray licensing here.

Registering an X-ray Device

The Maine Radiation Control Program - X-ray registers approximately 1060 x-ray facilities annually. There is a registration fee per x-ray machine and a requirement for inspections on a periodic basis. 

Inspections are performed by third-party qualified experts who are approved by the agency. Here is the New X-ray Registration form.

Regulations for Portable X-ray Equipment

Here are the requirements for a mobile x-ray service in Maine:

To provide a mobile x-ray service to the State of Maine, each owner of the x-ray service must:

  • Submit to the Radiation Control Program list of Technologist and Radiologist and copies of state licenses and credentials employed 
  • Submit to the Radiation Control Program a list of sites where the mobile unit will be used
  • Complete and submit to the Radiation Control Program the registration forms with the proper fee. Use form HHE 804 for fee submission and form HHE 805 for (each) x-ray machine data.
  • Have the x-ray equipment inspected by a Qualified Expert before the unit is used and every 2 years. 
  • A copy of the inspection report must be sent to the Radiation Control Program, any areas of non-compliance must be repaired/adjusted within 60 days, and a copy of the service representative's report must be sent to the Radiation Control Program. If you can submit by email, please send to, and
  • Have a Quality Assurance Program and perform the necessary tests to ensure good quality.

Other regulations include:

  • Portable or mobile equipment shall only be used in cases where it is impractical to transfer the patient(s) to a stationary x-ray unit. It is not to be used as a substitute for a stationary unit.
  • Mobile and portable x-ray systems, which are used for 1 week or more in 1 location (room or suite), shall be considered stationary for the purposes of this administrative regulation, and these systems shall meet the requirements of subsection (2) of this section.
  • Mobile and portable x-ray systems that are used for greater than 1 hour and less than 1 week in 1 location (room or suite) shall be provided with a protective barrier 1.9 meters in height having a window of lead equivalent glass equal to that required of the barrier and placed at least 1.8 meters from the tube housing assembly and at least 1.8 meters from the patient.
  • Mobile and portable x-ray systems that are used for 1 hour or less in 1 location (room or suite) shall meet the requirement of subsection (3) or (4) of this Section or be provided with a method of x-ray control that permits the operator to be at least 3.6 meters from the tube housing assembly during an exposure.

Disclaimer: The information in this document is solely for reference material. Regulations change often. To be sure of the most up-to-date laws, contact your local and state agencies.

Additional Resources

State of Maine Radiological Technologists

Department of Professional and Financial Regulation

Office of Licensing & Registration

35 State House Station

Augusta, Maine 04333-0035

(207) 624-8623

Tags: Portable X-ray Regulations

Chad Hutchison

Written by Chad Hutchison

Founder and CEO of Maven Imaging, Chad Hutchison has been in the medical imaging equipment market since 2003. As his business grew, he pioneered buying and selling medical equipment online and eventually began offering leasing and financing to meet market demands and help customers. His market expertise goes beyond traditional medical imaging and finance support, as he’s spearheading cloud-based lending solutions for vendors across the sector.