Idaho Portable X-ray Regulations

Dec 12, 2022 3:15:13 AM / by Chad Hutchison

The Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Division of Public Health sets forth the rules and regulations for portable x-rays in Idaho.

X-ray License in Idaho

The state of Idaho does not have any licensure requirements for x-ray professionals. 

Registering an X-ray Device

The Idaho Radiation Control Rules cover the registration and management of portable x-ray machines in Idaho. The intent is to regulate, license, control, and collect fees for x-ray radiation-emitting machines to ensure the safety of residents. Facility fees are $50, and $25 per tube. 

Regulations for Portable X-ray Equipment

Idaho has very few regulations when it comes to x-rays, especially portable ones. There are minimum safety requirements and operator qualifications to take note of. The only rule that specifically applies to a mobile device is as follows:

“If the radiation-producing machine is used as a mobile device, a central headquarters must be used.” This is for the application process.

Disclaimer: The information in this document is solely for reference material. Regulations change often. To be sure of the most up-to-date laws, contact your local and state agencies.

Additional Resources

Idaho Department of Health and Welfare

Bureau of Laboratories

2220 Old Penitentiary Road

Boise, ID 83712-8299

Idaho Radiology License 

1755 Westgate Drive

Boise, ID 83720

Phone: 208-327-7000

Fax: 208-327-7005

Tags: Portable X-ray Regulations

Chad Hutchison

Written by Chad Hutchison

Founder and CEO of Maven Imaging, Chad Hutchison has been in the medical imaging equipment market since 2003. As his business grew, he pioneered buying and selling medical equipment online and eventually began offering leasing and financing to meet market demands and help customers. His market expertise goes beyond traditional medical imaging and finance support, as he’s spearheading cloud-based lending solutions for vendors across the sector.