Georgia Portable X-ray Regulations

Dec 12, 2022 3:02:36 AM / by Chad Hutchison

The Georgia Department of Community Health handles x-ray regulations for the state of Georgia. 

X-ray License in Georgia

The state of Georgia licenses equipment but not personnel. Regulations require 6 hours of radiation safety education.

Registering an X-ray Device

The operation of any x-ray machine in Georgia is prohibited unless the user is registered with the department. The user must complete a separate application for registration at each facility in which a machine is housed.

The department is also authorized to inspect and determine compliance with all x-ray machines. Every registrant must afford the department reasonable times for the opportunity to inspect your machine/s.

Regulations for Portable X-ray Equipment

The rules and regulations for x-rays are in Georgia’s code, Subject 111-8-90. This includes:

  • Rule 111-8-90-.01 General Provisions
  • Rule 111-8-90-.03 Standards for Protection against Radiation
  • Rule 111-8-90-.04 X-Rays in the Healing Arts

General Requirements

Anyone operating the portable x-ray and associated equipment must be instructed in safe operating procedures. 

Portable x-ray equipment may only be used where it is impractical (for medical purposes) to transfer the patient to an x-ray suite.

Any portable or mobile machine that is in one location for more than a week, in 1 location (like a room or storage) must meet the additional requirements of .04(13)(f)1. (i).

Portable Equipment

(ii) The exposure switch shall be so arranged that the operator can stand at least 6 feet from the patient, the x-ray tube, and the useful beam unless there is shielding sufficient to assure compliance with .03(2)(a).

(iii) The source-to-skin distance shall be limited to not less than 12 inches.

(iv) Protective aprons (at least 0.25 mm lead equivalent) shall be available and their use is required.

(v) Personnel monitoring is required of anyone operating the machine.

Disclaimer: The information in this document is solely for reference material. Regulations change often. To be sure of the most up-to-date laws, contact your local and state agencies.

Additional Resources

State of Georgia Department of Natural Resources

Environmental Protection Division

Radioactive Materials Program

4244 International Parkway, Suite 114

Atlanta, Georgia 30354

(404) 362-2675

Georgia Secretary of State

Professional Licensing Division

237 Coliseum Dr.

PO Box 13446

Macon, GA 31208

(487) 207-2440

Tags: Portable X-ray Regulations

Chad Hutchison

Written by Chad Hutchison

Founder and CEO of Maven Imaging, Chad Hutchison has been in the medical imaging equipment market since 2003. As his business grew, he pioneered buying and selling medical equipment online and eventually began offering leasing and financing to meet market demands and help customers. His market expertise goes beyond traditional medical imaging and finance support, as he’s spearheading cloud-based lending solutions for vendors across the sector.