Florida Portable X-ray Regulations

Dec 12, 2022 2:55:25 AM / by Chad Hutchison

The state Board of Health began its radiation program in 1958. Today, there are over 18,000 facilities that have registered more than 55,000 x-ray machines throughout Florida.

X-ray License in Florida

To become certified in the state of Florida, you must demonstrate competency in the following:

  • Radiation protection
  • Equipment operation and maintenance
  • Image production and evaluation
  • Procedures
  • Patient care

Certificates are valid for 2 years, during which the certificate holder must obtain 12 hours of continuing education.

Visit Florida Health’s Radiologic Technology page for more on licensing.

Registering an X-ray Device

For applications, information notices, and shielding requirements, check out this page.

Florida’s Radiation Control inspects every x-ray machine according to schedule (which can vary). They are looking to see that:

  • The machine operates as it was designed
  • The people who use the machine are qualified 
  • Verify the machine is used safely and appropriately

Regulations for Portable X-ray Equipment

The Florida Administrative Code looks at x-ray technology in Chapter 64E-3, F.A.C. All equipment must comply with federal, state, and local laws, and suppliers, personnel, and equipment must be licensed and supervised by a qualified physician.

Personnel Orientation

  • Radiation exposure - patient and surrounding envio
  • Determining the area which will receive the primary beam
  • The time interval at which to check personnel radiation monitors
  • Use of radiation monitor in providing an additional check on the safety of equipment
  • Hazards of excessive radiation exposure
  • Proper use and maintenance of equipment
  • Proper maintenance of medical records (HIPAA)
  • Tech problems that may arise and methods of solution
  • Protections against electrical hazards

Additional regulations include:

  • Current employee records must be maintained (including accidents and illnesses)
  • Records of exam recorded and preserved
  • Equipment must meet all 11 safety standards
  • Equipment must be inspected by a qualified individual every 24 months or less

Disclaimer: The information in this document is solely for reference material. Regulations change often. To be sure of the most up-to-date laws, contact your local and state agencies.

Additional Resources

Dept of Health Radiation Control

4052 Bald Cypress Way

Tallahassee, FL 32399-1741

(852) 245-4910

Florida Radiology License

Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Radiation Control

4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin C-21

Tallahassee, FL 32399-1741

(850) 245-4266

Tags: Portable X-ray Regulations

Chad Hutchison

Written by Chad Hutchison

Founder and CEO of Maven Imaging, Chad Hutchison has been in the medical imaging equipment market since 2003. As his business grew, he pioneered buying and selling medical equipment online and eventually began offering leasing and financing to meet market demands and help customers. His market expertise goes beyond traditional medical imaging and finance support, as he’s spearheading cloud-based lending solutions for vendors across the sector.